Joseph Plaskett Award/prix de Joseph Plaskett
The Joseph Plaskett Foundation in partnership with the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts (RCA)
English  |  Français


The Plaskett Award is coordinated in a partnership between the Joseph Plaskett Foundation and the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.

The philosophy of the Foundation is that strong juries choose strong candidates, which in turn enhances the integrity of the Award.

Each year, the Joseph Plaskett Foundation appoints three Canadian artists of significant reputation to the jury. The jury occurs each year in a different city in Canada.

The 2017 jury was based in Toronto and held at the Ontario College of Art and Design. Chaired by Laura Millard, Associate Professor at OCAD U, it included David Liss, Curator at Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA); Alexander Irving, Associate Professor at the University of Toronto, and assisted by Jen Aitken.

The 2016 jury was based in Vancouver and included David MacWilliam (Chair), Associate Professor and former Dean of the Audain Faculty of Visual Art and Material Practice at Emily Carr University of Art and Design; Gary Pearson, Professor in Painting at University of British Columbia at Okanagan (UBCO) in Kelowna; and Allyson Clay, Professor in the Centre for Contemporary Art at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver.

The 2015 Jury was held in Ottawa with Jennifer Lefort (Jury Chair), painter and former Plaskett recipient (2005); Carol Wainio, Governor General Award in Visual Arts winner and senior Canadian painter; and Jonathan Shaughnessy, Curator at the National Gallery of Canada. The jury chose the Joseph Plaskett Award and the Inaugural Nancy Petry Award.

The 2014 Jury in Winnipeg was: Mark Neufeld (Jury Chair) Associate Professor at the University of Manitoba and recipient of the Inaugural Joseph Plaskett Award; Paul Butler, artist and Curator of Contemporary Art at the Winnipeg Art Gallery; and Eleanor Bond, Associate Professor at Concordia University and renowned Winnipeg based artist.

The 2013 jury in Vancouver was: Robert Youds from the University of Victoria (UVic), Ben Reeves from Emily Carr University of Art + Design (ECU) and Renée Van Halm (Jury Chair) Professor Emeritus (ECU).

The 2012 jury in Halifax was: Jan Peacock, Alex Livingston and Peter Dykhuis.

The 2011 jury in Toronto was: John Kissick, Shirley Wiitasalo and Laura Millard.

The 2010 jury in Montreal, was Eliza Griffiths (Chair), Pierre Dorion, and Etienne Zack.

The 2009 jury in Calgary, was Chris Cran (Chair), Arlene Stamp, and Ron Moppett.

The 2008 jury in Vancouver, was Paul Mathieu (Chair), Landon Mackenzie, and Mark Neufeld.

With thanks and appreciation to the outstanding Canadian artists who have served on The Plaskett Award jury since 2004:
Mario Doucet, Andy Fabo, Vera Frenkel, Sherrard Grauer, Duncan de Kergommeaux, Landon Mackenzie, Cheryl Sourkes, Ian Wallace, and Robert Young.

Special thanks to Mario Doucet and Takao Tanabe who chaired the first juries and began the arm's-length selection tradition, to Landon Mackenzie who has coordinated the Award Process since 2009, and to Julie Vogel and John Vogel who helped steer several years in between.