Joseph Plaskett Award/prix de Joseph Plaskett
The Joseph Plaskett Foundation in partnership with the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts (RCA)
English  |  Français

News Archive

2015 June 1


The 2015 Joseph Plaskett Award and the Inaugural Nancy Petry Award were presented at a reception held at the Musee d’art contemporain during the 135th Royal Academy of the Arts (RCA) Annual General Assembly in Montreal on May 16. The Foundation is very pleased to announce the Plaskett Award has been given to Stanzie Tooth, MFA University of Ottawa. This year, through the generosity of fellow artist and friend of Joe Plaskett, the runner up candidate was awarded the Nancy Petry prize of $10,000 for an opportunity to be in Europe for three months. The recipient is Rachel Crummey, MFA University of Guelph. We wish to express our gratitude to the expertise and hard work of this year's jury, which was held in Ottawa and included Jonathan Shaughnessy, Curator at the National Gallery of Canada, Carol Wainio, recent Governor General Award in Visual Arts, and Jennifer Lefort (Chair), painter and former Plaskett recipient.

Panel: Earlier in the day the Plaskett Foundation and RCA presented a fabulous panel which was open to the public and held at McGill School of Architecture called Painting the Prize; Awards and Consequences. Featuring Angela Grauerholz (Scotia Bank Prize 2015), Jennifer Lefort (Plaskett 2005), and Nadia Myre (Sobey Award 2014), it was chaired by Award Coordinator Landon Mackenzie (Artist and Professor at Emily Carr University of Art and Design) and Responder Christos Dikeakos (Artist, Vancouver).

Back to the News Archive