Joseph Plaskett Award/prix de Joseph Plaskett
The Joseph Plaskett Foundation in partnership with the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts (RCA)
English  |  Français

News Archive

2014 June 9

Celebration of Plaskett Award Ten Years in Vancouver


An exhibition and a painting Symposium was held in Vancouver on May 9 and 10, 2014 to celebrate! The Joseph Plaskett Foundation is grateful to the beautiful new Equinox Gallery for providing this outstanding exhibition venue in the heart of Vancouver and to Emily Carr University for their support of the Symposium.

The exhibition titled Plaskett Award Ten Years, curated by Landon Mackenzie, included paintings by Joseph Plaskett and all former recipients: Julie Trudel (2013), Phil Delisle (2012), Jessica Groome (2011), Megan Hepburn (2010), Vitaly Medvedovsky (2009), Nam Duc Nguyen (2008), Todd Tremeer (2007), Ehryn Torrell (2006), Jennifer Lefort (2005), and Mark Neufeld (2004).

The same night and during the opening, Collin Johanson was awarded the eleventh $25,000 Joseph Plaskett Award by 2014 Jury Chair Mark Neufeld. In a special presentation and in front of 150 members of the Vancouver art community, we celebrated Joe Plaskett's legacy and generous annual prize with a few glasses of exceptional wine donated by board chair John Vogel.

The event was on a lovely sunny night with the big doors open facing the future site of Emily Carr University on Great Northern Way. Vancouver's Savoury City Catering sponsored the night providing wonderful food. Music with country artist and Vancouver guitar builder Warren Murfitt made the event a party. Canadian artist and legend Takao Tanabe delivered a moving speech and spoke of a time when Plaskett had been his teacher in 1948.

Painting/Position/Place; A Symposium the next day at Emily Carr University of Art + Design on Granville Island brought together eight artists and two writer-curators to examine the effect of place on artistic practices and positions specifically in painting. Speakers included Ben Reeves, Jürgen Partenheimer (Germany), Landon Mackenzie, Willie Brisco, Steffanie Ling and five former Plaskett Award Recipients who travelled from across Canada and the UK.

Extra thanks to Andy Sylvester and the staff of the Equinox Gallery, Brandon Theissen Art Services, Landon Mackenzie, John Vogel, Stephen Jarislowsky and all the lenders. Thanks to Christann Kennedy, Caroline Mousseau, David MacWilliam, Windsor Gallery (Vancouver), Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (Montreal) and Patrick Mikhail Gallery (Ottawa) and all the artists.


Back to the News Archive